scroll down for more
Bognor Regis Golf Club has a long and fascinating history which will only add to the sense of occasion when you play our beautiful course. We hope you find the below Chronology interesting to read and get a feel of Bognor's heritage as a golf club and golf in general in Bognor Regis.
When the club celebrated its Centenary year in 1992, longstanding member Mr Gordon Beale produced a fascinating book documenting the development of golf in Bognor Regis, which is available to read in the Clubhouse.
Our Clubhouse has a large amount of honors boards. Alongside these honors boards are photos and historical memorabilia associated with Bognor Regis Golf Club.
We hope that all golfers coming to play, will enjoy our golf course and be warmed by our heritage.
See below timeline of significant events at throughout Bognor Regis Golf Club's history.
|1892||Club was first formed in the centre of Bognor Regis, approximately 1.5 miles from its current location.|
|1893||First Trophies were being played for at Bognor Regis Golf Club. The ladies played for a gold bangle & the men for a tobacco box & silver cigarette box.|
|1905||Bognor Regis Golf Club, reformed as a nine-hole course, open to all, on the banks of the River Rife between Bognor and Felpham.|
|1922||Play commenced at the new 18 hole course at Downview Road (current location).|
|1923||Official ceremonial opening of the new 18 hole course took place, with the first ball being driven by Sir William Bird, M.P.|
|1923-1924||The Hook Lane 9 hole course was still in operation, under the new name Upper Bognor Golf Club.|
|1924||The Bognor Challenge Cup was first played for. The Bognor Challenge Cup was presented to the Bognor Chamber of Commerce in recognition of the Bognor's first 18 hole course.|
|1936||The Clubhouse artefacts were given to members, and renovations took place. The Ladies' Clubhouse was also built.|
|1939||The Club's General Committee took the decision to keep the Club open during the War.|
|1953||Constitution changes, led to the formation of the 'present' members club, Bognor Regis Golf Club.|
|1957||The course was converted to its present playing order. Previously the 17th Hole was the 1st Hole. A practise ground was also added in-between the 17th and 18th.|
|1970||The Purley Trophy was first contested, named after Charles Purley, the Club Captain in 1970, who sponsored the Amateur Scratch Event. This event is still played today.|
|1971||Course developments, increasing the length of the course from 6050 - 6350 yards, with eight new teeing areas, increasing the par also from 68 to 70.|
|1972||50th Anniversary of the move to Downview Road. Also the first Professional Tournament was staged, the John Player Trophy.|
|1987||Hurricane shut the course for over a week with over 60 trees falling.|
|1992||100th Anniversary. The club had three main periods up to this year (1892-97, 1906-22 & 1922- present day).|
|1999||The Clubhouse had a major refurbishment.|
|2015||BRGC became a Community Amateur Sports Club (CASC)|
|2017||125th Anniversary of Bognor Regis Golf Club, celebrated with a festival week.|
|2017||Members agreed to enter into a promotion planning agreement with Hallam Land Management|
|2023||100 years since the opening of the current site.|